Home > Create & Win Contest, News, Vacant Sky, Vacant Sky Awakening > One week remains (+New forum!)

One week remains (+New forum!)

January 29, 2013 Leave a comment Go to comments

We’ve got just about a week left on the Vacant Sky: Awakening Kickstarter and, by extension, the Create & Win contest. Now’s the time if you’re planning to take advantage of our sweet Kickstarter deals or submit to win free stuff!

Speaking of Kickstarter, VSA was selected to appear on the curated Kickstarter page for International Game Developers Association. Thanks so much for your support!

Recently, there have been a few requests for us to start up a forum as a format more conducive to discussion than this blog and its comments. As of today, we now have an official subreddit set up at http://projectbc.reddit.com . Come join the community, hang out, and chat with fellow fans!

  1. Sara
    January 29, 2013 at 9:17 pm

    I never asked for this. :|

    • projectbc
      January 29, 2013 at 9:30 pm

      What? Hosting the forum on reddit?

  2. Sara
    January 29, 2013 at 9:47 pm

    Yeah, I thought it would be a proper forum, I guess? I just think Reddit is weirdly structured and I find it confusing to navigate. I’ll just continue to use the comments here. But by all means, leave it there.

    • projectbc
      January 29, 2013 at 10:04 pm

      The thing is, I’m not a web admin. We don’t have an IT guy to manage the websites, and the forums, and the server and keep everything up to date. I have my hands full just maintaining what we’ve already got set up and I spend too much time already fixing leaks when problems show up on the website.

      There are a number of reasons I chose to set up the forum on reddit. Firstly, it’s where most of our traffic comes from. Secondly, it’s easier to promote and get new traffic there. Thirdly, it was very easy to set up and requires no maintenance or updating on my part.

      Lastly, reddit is pretty minimalist and I’m not predicting we’ll get much activity. I don’t really want to go through the effort of setting up a full forum if it’s not going to be used.

      It took me a while to get used to reddit, but I find it fairly intuitive (especially if you’re just using the one forum).

    • projectbc
      January 29, 2013 at 10:05 pm

      Bottom line is, every minute I spend on stuff like installing, configuring, debugging, and updating stuff like a forum is time I’d rather be spending on the game. :P I just want something simple that will let me stay focused on what I care about.

  3. Sara
    January 30, 2013 at 12:25 pm

    Ah, I didn’t know it took so much work to maintain a forum. Had I know it would cause so much trouble, I wouldn’t have kept asking for one. : /
    I’ll just flood the comment sections here instead, they are easier to use and navigate in my opinion.

  4. Sara
    February 24, 2013 at 7:45 pm

    Progress report on Act 3? >.>

    • projectbc
      February 25, 2013 at 8:32 pm

      Slowly but surely. You’ll be the first to know when there’s something worth reporting. :P

  5. JC Denton
    March 24, 2013 at 3:19 am

    So, progress report on Act 3 of Contention?
    Really looking forward to it so I can go through all 3 Acts in one go.

    • projectbc
      March 24, 2013 at 9:48 am

      It’s coming along. Currently, I’m expecting it to be released some time in mid-late summer, but I can’t say for certain yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

