Home > News, Vacant Sky > Act III Released!!

Act III Released!!

October 18, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Act III is finally here!

Grab it here: http://www.flameupload.com/files/9M4OXZRD/Vacant_Sky_Vol_1_Contention__Act_III_.rar

In order to properly convert over your save data from Act II, you need to have the Act II Clear Flag, which you get by saving after the credits.  Make sure you’ve done that before trying to convert!

Thanks to everyone who could make this possible.  Thanks to all the beta testers for their countless hours of bashing their heads against Halo Locks, thanks to Isabel (ganonfrog) for her work on the stunning new enemy battlers, thanks to Charil for her lovely-as-always voiceovers, and thanks to Tarranon for his work on the best music the series has seen yet.  Please enjoy the conclusion of Auria’s story!

Make sure to play Acts I and II first!  Get them at the Vacant Sky site: http://www.projectbc.net/vacantsky

Categories: News, Vacant Sky
  1. silversun
    October 18, 2010 at 7:47 pm

    I’m really excited to play this, however unfortunately I played this game on my laptop, which has since broken down. I’ve been unable to rescue anything from it, so is it possible that a save file could be uploaded? Sorry for the inconvience, and thank you if you do upload it. I’m very excited to play this, I loved the final cutscene(s) on Act II and really want to finish it.

    • projectbc
      October 18, 2010 at 7:49 pm

      You can start a new game in Act III and not be too far behind. I’ll work on scrounging up an Act II save for you, though.

  2. silversun
    October 18, 2010 at 9:23 pm

    Ah after I tried “new game” I realized it started on Act III. ^^; I thought it would start all over again on Act I which is why I wanted a save file. Thanks for the response, though, and sorry for bothering you.

  3. Toble007
    October 19, 2010 at 2:02 pm

    are you implying that you can kill darxinger?

    • projectbc
      October 19, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      It’s possible, but extremely difficult on a first playthrough.

  4. Labrynian Rebel
    October 19, 2010 at 2:47 pm

    Great game, but I found one glitch

    After Vel is taken by Ejaro, if you go back to Bellemont, she’s still there O_o

    • projectbc
      October 19, 2010 at 2:48 pm

      …Gah! How could I miss that? >< Good catch.

  5. Il
    October 19, 2010 at 3:59 pm

    Thanks a lot for great game!
    Weapon corner was awesome, i bet you Type-Moon fan.:)
    Is realy only 5 endings in game? After see cutscene with Kash i think where will one more not so depressing you know… But even though i beat Darxinger i cant find any.
    Still where one boss in arena and i find only 2 seal for shrine in Yomi and i don’t know who use Fragarach.
    Found one bug btw – on a second playthrough “obtaining Gugnir” cutscene work incorrect – Auria stays on a stairs.

    • projectbc
      October 19, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      Guilty as charged!
      Yes, there are only five endings. Congrats on beating Darxinger. Seri is the one who can equip Fragarach (you get it from Ran). What do you mean about the Gungnir cutscene?

  6. Il
    October 19, 2010 at 4:41 pm

    First time this cutscene work fine, but on a second playthrough Auria stay on a stairs and not teleport to altar.

  7. Labrynian Rebel
    October 19, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    You can actually beat Darxinger? What happens?

    • projectbc
      October 19, 2010 at 4:47 pm

      Not a whole lot. Bragging rights, and it unlocks the hardest optional boss in the game.

  8. Labrynian Rebel
    October 19, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Okay, I already beat the game three times, so I’m not going to level-grind for it then.

  9. Labrynian Rebel
    October 19, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Also in the “final final” ending, why does the tower light up with orange light when that’s not Ejaro’s plan this time? Also after Ejaro takes Vel the city, (Salvehome or however it’s spelled) is completly empty, even the nightclub, so does that mean they were all killed? In the credits a full nightclub is shown, so did everyone just flee? Also in the second final ending Ejaro never says what his goal is, and I know the player already knows because they already beat the game, but it doesn’t make sense for the characters to not ask what Ejaro is using Vel for. I don’t mean the very very long story that Ejaro says in the first final ending, but maybe a simple condensed version. It simply doesn’t seem realistic that the characters wouldn’t ask why Ejaro is powering a random city in the bowels of the earth. Just a simple suggestion.

    • projectbc
      October 19, 2010 at 7:21 pm

      **SPOILERS for the Remission route**
      1) The orange light enchantment isn’t something controlled by Ejaro. It’s an enchantment which is constantly in effect but is being suppressed by the seals. Once those seals are broken, it becomes active again.
      2) Yes, everyone in the city is dead (killed by Vel). Good catch about the nightclub in the credits. It didn’t occur to me to change it.
      3) That’s something I had thought about while working on Remission, yes. Although it would have made sense logically for the characters to inquire about it, I didn’t feel like having the player go through the explanation needlessly for something which they already well understood.

  10. Skoll
    October 20, 2010 at 1:38 am

    Jeez, I haven’t touched Fallout: New Vegas, the new Kirby game, or done that heap of work on my desk because of this game. Really well done, I’ve already gotten 4/5 of the endings, and already consider this to be one of the, if not THE best RPG Maker games ever done (Can’t name one I like more, TBH.).

    **SPOILER ALERT**
    On that note, though. How exactly do I get the 5th ending? I’ve gotten the endings where I’ve:
    Lost to Cap’n Blackguard (His name escapes me), BAD END
    The two main endings
    The ending where I solo’d through Halo Locks

    I’m missing one, and I have -no- idea what exactly I haven’t done, or have done that I shouldn’t. Mind passing on a hint?xP
    *SPOILER END*

    On another note, though. It seems you guys’ve got yourself a fan over here, I’m curious as to what exactly ProjectBC is working on next, if you don’t mind me asking. I note the “Vol. 1” beside the Vacant Sky name, and wonder if we’ll maybe be seeing another volume any time.

    • Labrynian Rebel
      October 20, 2010 at 1:43 am

      Go to Alibass first at the begining of the game without any preparations, BAD END.

    • projectbc
      October 20, 2010 at 3:06 am

      Thanks for playing! I’m really glad you enjoyed it. A lot of sweat and tears went into putting it together. Although I’m hesitant to say anything now that I might regret in the future, I would like to see the title continue. I’ll always be willing to continue writing and programming, so as long as I have artists to collaborate with, I’ll do my best.

  11. Labrynian Rebel
    October 20, 2010 at 1:41 am

    Wow, everyone in that city died, Blaise didn’t adopt Vel, Seri didn’t get a patron, and Halo Locks still exists and could be activated in the far future. Talk about depressing, I think I like the other ending better, but of course that’s why we can choose, right? :P

    • Il
      October 20, 2010 at 2:35 am

      And mb Ejaro can escape.

      Pros: Vel don’t die because of mana deprivation in near future.:P

  12. Labrynian Rebel
    October 20, 2010 at 5:13 pm

    Actually I don’t think Vel would die because in the tower they all saw Vel’s story so why would Vel continue to hide it from Rayonne if he already knows it? She’s probably still not comfortable with it, but I don’t think she’s willing to die to preserve the false image anymore.

  13. Ryuaga
    October 21, 2010 at 10:24 am

    Is there something special you have to do in order to fight the final enemy in Asgard, I’ve killed darxinger and defeated all of the other enemies in Asgard. I just can’t seem to talk to him

    • projectbc
      October 21, 2010 at 2:11 pm

      Unfortunately, it’s a bug, and he can’t be fought due to a mapping error. >_<

  14. baSefrie
    October 21, 2010 at 6:58 pm

    Hey,

    is it possible to upload a savegame before making a choice to help Vel or not – but with stronger characters?
    I like the story, but the fights take too much time and I wanna see the story more :)
    If you could modify a savegame for me, I would appreciate it.

    • projectbc
      October 21, 2010 at 7:04 pm

      There’s a trick to the ending path where you don’t help Vel. The Diamond Diadem makes it a much more feasible path to take. Perhaps there’s something valuable you can sell to get the funds for it.

      • baSefrie
        October 22, 2010 at 8:40 am

        Where do I get the Diamond Diadem?

  15. tomtom
    October 22, 2010 at 12:19 pm

    omg, this game’s epic. I’ve lost even more hours to it than final fantasy 13 and that’s a long long long time.
    Hope you keep making amazing games XD

  16. Einander
    October 22, 2010 at 12:21 pm

    I’ve been enjoying Act III, but I found one exploit in the Ascension system you may want to know about: Take Berserk and Pause on Auria and use Ascension on the first turn and the turn order glitches out. This results in the enemies and Auria freezing for 2-3 turns (regeneration and rejuvenation still take effect), then the enemies move, then Auria moves. I don’t know if this works with more than Auria in the party, since I’ve only used it in the Void Arena, but it essentially gives you two extra points with no downside. (In fact, since you can use the Virad Mask’s auto-Rejuvenation during this time, it makes the two extra points give you an outright benefit.)

    I’m thinking this has something to do with scripting, because I noticed Shadow Auria repeatedly casting Angel during the 2-3 turns after I used Ascension instead of doing nothing.

  17. projectbc
    October 22, 2010 at 5:58 pm

    baSefrie :

    Where do I get the Diamond Diadem?

    A merchant in Farithe sells it.

  18. John
    October 23, 2010 at 3:34 am

    Oh no an error! ): (go here to see it) (yes its my websites server lol)

    • John
      October 23, 2010 at 3:37 am

      How to fix:

      1. Open where you saved Vacant Skies

      2. Drag the “AutoSave” to the recycle bin

      3. Re-open game

      4. Play!

  19. John
    October 23, 2010 at 3:42 am

    Oh no an error! ): (go here to see it) (yes its my websites server lol)

    • John
      October 23, 2010 at 3:43 am

      How to fix:

      1. Open the menu (In Game)

      2. Avoid pushing Enter or “C” on the Milestone / Rewards for beating the other chapters

  20. John
    October 23, 2010 at 2:05 pm

    There is errors to the point where it is unplayable, sometimes I can’t even save. p;

    • projectbc
      October 23, 2010 at 4:16 pm

      What errors are you talking about? What OS are you running on?

      • John
        October 23, 2010 at 7:42 pm

        OS = Windows 7

  21. Kelsey
    October 23, 2010 at 4:14 pm

    Just wanted to thank the creator for making something so awesome! I’m really proud. :]

  22. projectbc
    October 23, 2010 at 11:15 pm

    John :

    OS = Windows 7

    Were you able to run the other acts without problems? They use the same engine. You didn’t try hitting F12, did you?

  23. Lyvraette
    October 27, 2010 at 5:00 am

    Really glad to hear that you will continue this project! Please forgive my ignorance, I thought you did all the artwork alone…

  24. JJ
    November 19, 2010 at 2:25 am

    I thought this had become vaporware, nice to see the release.

  25. Glaive
    November 22, 2010 at 6:31 pm

    Thanks for making this awesome games.Already finish this act twice yesterday :P.Now i need to beat Void Arena only Is this the end for this games?Because i really wanted more Auria Edith.It seem i like her very much >_<

    • projectbc
      November 22, 2010 at 6:48 pm

      Although it’s too early to say, I’d definitely like to continue the series. Act III, however, is the conclusion of this chapter of the story. Should the series continue, it will take a very different direction. I’m glad you’re enjoying the game! Knowing that people are having fun is what makes all the work worth it.

      • Glaive
        November 22, 2010 at 11:02 pm

        Well im looking forward other games that you will make.It’s been bugging me long time ago,why there is “Vol.1” in this series? Damn darxinger i hate his regen on void <_<

  26. Glaive
    November 23, 2010 at 5:05 am

    Glaive :
    Well im looking forward other games that you will make.It’s been bugging me long time ago,why there is “Vol.1″ in this series? Damn darxinger i hate his regen on void <_<

    lol typo..how can i fight darxinger on void if it was bugged :P

  27. baSefrie
    February 3, 2011 at 8:08 pm

    Hey,

    I’m here again and I don’t get all 5 endings (SPOILER!), only these: “Return”, “Remission”, “Angel of Justice” (Auria alone) and the only bad ending I found was against Darxinger, if you wanna keep Noe and lose. What am I missing or better: What must I do for the other ending? (or endings)

    The bugs are so far reported, but some other questions for Act III:
    – How can I reach the chest in Ciel on the right side of the sea? I can’t swim through the water nor can I reach it via ground.
    – Why should I keep Noe? Nothing happens if I keep her (only beating Darxinger).
    – Did you fix the “Darxinger Bug” in a new version? If no, are you gonna release all three Acts as one Part with bugfix? I wanna kill him in the Void. :)
    – There is one quest (Looking for a model), which I can’t solve. Where is this stupid model? :<

    Hope you read and answer it and besides – congratulations to "Misao's Game of the Year".

    ~ baSefrie

    • projectbc
      February 4, 2011 at 1:54 am

      Thanks for playing! I’m glad you enjoyed the game!

      -As far as the missing ending, it’s the easiest one to get–just go straight to Garas as soon as the game begins (any time prior to getting Laaik).
      -The Ciel chest is a bug. Sorry ’bout that!
      -There’s no concrete bonus for saving Noe, aside from being a nice person (and unlocking Shadow Darxinger in the Void Arena).
      -The bug with Shadow Darxinger will be fixed in the upcoming Complete Edition, which will be repackaging all three Acts together with bugfixes and lots of new content.
      -The model you’re looking for is closer than you might think. You need to complete the quest with the Orkan Tailor in Viadahn first.

      Thanks again! Look forward to the Complete Edition.

      • baSefrie
        February 5, 2011 at 7:58 am

        Thanks for the help again ~ And yes, I will look forward to the Complete Edition. :)

        And I have one suggestion:
        – Maybe you could create an end, in which Auria joins the Virad after the Virad Lord dies and she becomes the real Virad Lord. I would find it interesting, especially after the “Remission” end. A bad Auria… hm :)

        That was all from me – for now.

        I would be happy if you really add the ending I suggested.

        ~ baSefrie

  28. Luke
    February 20, 2011 at 6:54 am

    Hey there,
    This game is AMAZING, I just had to come here and say it.

    Really good work, I really hope you do more games like these in a near future. :3

    • projectbc
      February 20, 2011 at 11:34 am

      Thanks so much. I’m glad you enjoy it. Look forward to great things in the future!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

