Home > News, Vacant Sky > Act II Released!!

Act II Released!!

Act II is finally released after a couple day delay!

Grab it here: Vacant Sky Vol 1 Contention [Act II].zip [125.04MiB] / 2shared / Gdc.wpi.edu

In order to properly convert over your save data from Act I, you need to have the Act I Clear Flag, which you get by saving after the credits.  Make sure you’ve done that before trying to convert!

Make sure to play Act I first!  Get it at the Vacant Sky page here: http://www.projectbc.net/vacantsky

What’s New in Act II?

Fixes

* Removed the bug where First Aid was affected by ATK/DEF
* Removed the bug where reactions (namely Dodge and Counter) affected support abilities (no more Seri dodging heals!)
* Removed the bug where reaction icons sometimes wouldn’t appear
* Made the unlockable title screens less obscure to use
* Balanced Accuracy; see New Features
* Regeneration no longer hurts you
* Disenchant now works on Regeneration


Changes

* Removed the skills system
* You may now obtain new techniques from the menu instead of returning to the Hall of Legends
* The story is no longer painfully linear

New Features

* Vital Hit: High Accuracy grants you a chance of dealing critical hits; high Speed grants you defense against them
* Ascensions: Customizable powerups unique to certain characters
* Branching Story: Three mysteries to uncover, the order in which you proceed affecting the way the story unfolds
* Music: A new soundtrack composed by Tarranon, including a new opening theme
* Portraits: Includes a set of remastered and all new face portraits
* Charges: Auria gains the ability to store power for a future finishing attack

Categories: News, Vacant Sky
  1. Skoll
    January 5, 2010 at 6:45 pm

    Awesome, congrats on finishing up the game, can’t wait to play! I’m getting an error upon loading my old save, though:

    “Script ‘interpreter 2’ line 229: NoMethodError occurred

    undefined method ‘unlock’ for nil:NilClass”

    The game then closes out. Is there any fix or anything available, or will I have to restart?

    • projectbc
      January 5, 2010 at 6:48 pm

      Damn! That’s so weird, as imported saves were working fine in beta. Would you mind emailing me your save game and I’ll check it out? blue.oblivion@gmail.com

  2. juca
    January 12, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I’m really lost at the orkan mansion. Is there a boss or something I have to find? I went through the mirrors, also broke the shards (i guess it’s shards) but still nothing.

    • projectbc
      January 12, 2010 at 10:06 pm

      There’s a boss you have to fight. Have you found all six seals? If you’re missing a couple, there’s a “trick” to the manor. Is there anything that changes when the music box starts playing?

      • juca
        January 13, 2010 at 2:48 pm

        I found the missing seal, then finished the game. Very good. Any ETA on the next chapter?

  3. Friendry
    February 13, 2010 at 2:15 pm

    I played and finished the released games and what can I say ….very good , the story is awesome the best that I met in a game .
    Now the good things and bad things about the game (my opinion dont shoot me) :
    The story is good , very good I would add it make you want more.9,5 out of 10
    The mapping is good it seem natural though there are some bugs but ,it receive a 9 out of 10.
    The events are good did’nt found any bugs so I give it a 10.
    The music is very good it realy help making the atmosphere in the game I realy enjoyed listening to it . Also a 10 .
    The character faces are drawed really good though I like more the faces from act 1 they seem more realistic (my opinion). 9,50
    The optional quests are to few , I like to know what happen in the main story but some optional quests , optional dungeons and so on would make the game more long and from my view more enjoyable. 5 out of 10.
    The items are also very few I really can’t make a good equip build because it does’nt exist (maybe people do’nt care about this but it would add a litle more realism to the game).5 out of 10
    If I should give a rating to the game I would give it a 9. It’s a game every rpg fan should play especialy if the focus on the story.

  4. February 15, 2010 at 1:43 pm

    Well, I only played through the part of the first Act, but thought I’d review it so far.

    It’s a nice game. It looks shiny, and the graphics quality (light effects, screen fadings, custom sprites in and out of battle) is top notch for a RMXP game. I am very impressed. The story is slow-ish at first, but quickly picks up. A bit vague at times, but nothing major that’s problematic. Maps are large at some places, causing slowdown (the first city for instance), but it could just be my pc. >.> <.<

    Anyways.

    Graphics 10/10. Very sleek and polished. I like it.
    Sound/Music 10/10. No strange sounds, quality's not bad, the music is cool, as is the voice acting. Very nice.
    Gameplay 8/10 Well, its an awesome custom system, but its a bit vaguely put. It took me a while at some places to figure out what works where. The FF-X-esque system is pretty cool though.
    Story 9/10 Well, I haven't played very far yet, but the story sounds interesting. Again, a bit vague at places, where I can't directly figure out where the info suddenly comes from, but okay nonetheless.
    Objects 6/10 Well, the attacks, and items in the game is sparse so far. I might not be far enough, but I haven't picked up anything real useful, and it seems a tad bland. I suggest adding more different type of weapons? Or something along those lines.

    FF4 with a twist. Storyline based, with nice cutscenes and stuff in between dungeon crawling or field walking. I like it. I'll be sure to finish it.
    9/10.

  5. newbieha
    February 27, 2010 at 7:25 am

    excuse me, I have a little question

    did ActII end when i beat the boss after break the six seals?
    I had use the deceives after the door
    and don’t know what to do next…

    • projectbc
      February 27, 2010 at 4:06 pm

      Nope, you’ve still got more to go. You saw the memoirs behind the room? Explore Svaneholm at nighttime to progress the story.

  6. Taranir
    February 28, 2010 at 3:10 pm

    Finally got around to playing this! What I’ve gotten through looks great * v*

    I keep getting an error after killing the assassin in Frank Jones’s house, though- it’ll go back to the room downstairs with everyone standing there, and before I can do anything this pops up:

    “Script ‘FmodEx *’ line 303: RuntimeError occurred.

    FMOD Ex returned error 36”

    And won’t let me continue. :c

    • projectbc
      February 28, 2010 at 3:17 pm

      Would you mind emailing me your save file? I thought I had been away with this horrid error. -_- My email is blue.oblivion@gmail.com .

  7. newbieha
    March 7, 2010 at 11:17 am

    thanks you! i got the ending:)
    well……i can’t wait for the ACT III !
    thx for the game:D

  8. jonli
    July 2, 2010 at 1:45 pm

    how come no full screen? cant hardly see the game

  9. Seraphim
    August 7, 2010 at 1:39 am

    I can’t open the door after beating the guardian boss in the Maladoor Manor. Am I missing something? ._oa

    • projectbc
      August 7, 2010 at 1:41 am

      You have to complete all three areas first (Orka, Banivia, and United Provinces).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

