Home > News, Vacant Sky > Vacant Sky Complete Edition: Act I+ Released

Vacant Sky Complete Edition: Act I+ Released

The first episode of the Vacant Sky Complete Edition, titled Act I+: Death & Rebirth, has just been released! Download it for free here!

“I died once.” 

Vacant Sky is a modern fantasy RPG following the death and rebirth of Auria Edith, a small-town girl whose violent and unexpected death turns her world upside down. After her equally unexpected resurrection, Auria finds herself drawn into the heart of a mystery involving a cult of masked cultists who will stop at nothing to make her their goddess.

The Complete Edition is a remastering of the game, introducing significant improvements in the graphics, story, and gameplay. It has new content for returning fans and expects no prior knowledge, making it a great entry point into the series for new players. Act I+ is available free for PC now!

  

Categories: News, Vacant Sky
  1. Sara
    September 1, 2012 at 11:00 am

    Finally. :D
    Been waiting forever for this. <3

    But if this is act 1, does that mean Act 2 and 3 are still not done? I was kinda expecting all 3 acts to just be "fused" into 1.

    • projectbc
      September 1, 2012 at 11:02 am

      They will be eventually, but Act III is taking sooo much longer than Acts I and II that I’m releasing them separately. Act II should be out shortly. That said, they will actually be fused into one when Act III is done, but there shouldn’t be any more changes.

  2. Sara
    September 1, 2012 at 11:19 am

    Okay, but will that affect anything if I start playing Act 1 now? Like, once Act 3 is out and you make them all into one game, would that affect saves or something?

    Also, how large is your development team? Just curious.
    How much, roughly, would you say of Act 2 and 3 are finished? I’m eager to play the whole game.
    And is that other game still happening? The one with the kickstarter? I thought the concept looked fun, but I think it didn’t reach it’s goal, so is that canceled or still being worked on?

    • projectbc
      September 1, 2012 at 11:22 am

      Nope, it won’t affect anything. I put in a new save system that makes porting your saves over a totally seamless process. Your save should be completely compatible with the future releases.

      The development team has about four core members, but at least a dozen have worked on the game throughout the past couple years.

      Act II is done, it just needs to undergo beta testing. We just finished alpha testing it a month or two ago. Act III is mostly done, but there’s a lot of new content to add in, and then it needs to be tested.

      As for the other game, that’s Vacant Sky: Awakening. We’ll be relaunching a new Kickstarter sometime in the near future.

  3. Sara
    September 1, 2012 at 11:36 am

    I see, thanks for answering my questions. ^_^
    I’ll continue to monitor this blog for updates then. For what it’s worth, I think you guys have done a great job so far.

    • projectbc
      September 1, 2012 at 11:37 am

      Thanks much. I appreciate your support!

  4. Sara
    September 1, 2012 at 1:17 pm

    It’s been bothering me for a bit now, but in the town where Auria lives, there is this treasure chest you can see in the south part of town, next to a cave entrance. Is it possible to get to it or is it just to tease the player?

  5. Kami
    September 2, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Thanks for making such a amazing game!

    I just downloaded it in rpgmaker.com and played once. I found many useful comments in the internet after that to make me realize one thing that I never learnt new skills in the hall of legend.. but anyway it is not a big problem to me =W=

    I just wanted to ask for help that how to import my save file into vol. 2? I read the instruction and it said I should copy and paste the save file of vol. 1 to import the record into vol. 2. However, I could not find a file named “save” or sth. what I can see in the folder are only fmodex.dll, rgss102e.dll, Vacant Sky Act1+.rgssad and bcutil.dll…

    So, which one I should put in the folder of vol. 2? I have put all files in vol. 1 into the folder of vol. 2 but no saving record is found…

    • projectbc
      September 2, 2012 at 12:01 pm

      Act I+ breaks compatibility with the old Act II and Act III, so save importing isn’t supported. You’ll have to wait until the new versions come out. Sorry about that!

  6. Sara
    September 2, 2012 at 9:39 am

    Finished Act 1+, it was a bit short, are the other 2 longer or are they all this quick to finish? Had a bit of trouble with the final boss, I’m assuming the stats I picked affected the boss? Had I known I wouldn’t have upped speed so much. Anyway, looking forward to the next Act.

  7. Axel
    September 2, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Sara, the other parts is longer. I think the original Act II was around 2-3 hours and Act II around 3-4 hours. I would be REALLY surprised if the new version of those acts where significantly shorter then the original ones.

  8. Axel
    September 2, 2012 at 10:28 am

    *is longer
    *Act III around 3-4 hours

  9. Alex
    September 3, 2012 at 9:56 pm

    Started playing yesterday, and am at the town after Ciel.
    I got a bug that makes me stuck at level 5.
    I can get level 6 no problem, but the second i switch screens or change zone, im back down to level 5 with minimum XP…. WTH?

    • projectbc
      September 3, 2012 at 9:57 pm

      That’s not a bug. Level 5 is the max level in Act I.

  10. Alex
    September 3, 2012 at 9:59 pm

    Started playing yesterday, and am at the town after Ciel.
    I got a bug that makes me stuck at level 5.
    I can get level 6 no problem, but the second i switch screens or change zone, im back down to level 5 with minimum XP….
    Its making it impossible to continue.

  11. Alex
    September 4, 2012 at 1:30 am

    Sorry for the double post.
    Oh ok, I guess the end caught me by surprise.
    Judging from the screenshots and conversations I was expecting to get to visit more areas and villages. I feel like I’m still in the prologue :P

  12. Dee
    September 4, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Oh it’s such a shame the Kickstarter for Awakening didn’t work out. Better luck next time! I did think you’d have benefited more from wider exposure, after releasing more of Vacant Sky and possibly, any other shorter side projects.

    I’ll check out Act 1+ a little and then wait for the full version. =P

    • Dee
      September 4, 2012 at 8:13 pm

      Just tried Act1+ a little:

      In normal and full screen mode, it seems to be quite sluggish btw. And it was kinda bad in Weapon’s party but even more noticeable once I’d proceeded to the village. The issue isn’t really of high cpu usage: cpu usage of VC usually peaks out at around 20++%. And the screen seems to flicker quite a bit.

      Any suggestion on what I can do to fix the sluggish issues + flickering, would be welcome. I’ve tried disabling antivirus and exiting the browser and shutting down all unnecessary programs.

      Btw, I like Weapon’s design. He’s really hot. =P And I liked that female Virad’s attitude as well. And that Lord was mysterious and interesting.

      Anyways, hopefully by the end of Act 1 or further, I’ll find out why the world hasn’t ended yet even though Awakening is supposed to be about this uber villain dead set on being an enemy of mankind. Then again, perhaps he’s dead by the time of Act 1. And original Virad, huh? I guess they warped into something else entirely and his corpse(if he’s dead by now) is probably turning in his grave.

      • projectbc
        September 5, 2012 at 11:04 am

        Re: The sluggishness and flickering – That’s really odd! I’ve never heard of that happening before. What are your specs? Which OS are you running on? I’m able to run it on my 6 year old Windows XP machine with no slowdown or flickering, so it surprises me to hear that. Erm, have you tried rebooting? You might also try hitting F1 when the game is running and disabling the smooth scroll.

        Glad to hear that you’re enjoying it so far, though! There are many mysteries, some to be soon answered and some that have yet to appear yet. Hopefully the issues you’re encountering don’t prevent you from enjoying it through to the end.

    • Dee
      September 5, 2012 at 1:28 pm

      Ah I forgot all about F1. I decided to enable smooth scrolling instead and it worked.

      To think I tried a lot of rather complicated solutions!

      Overall, quite an awesome experience. And it’s interesting about Michael: so it’s more like he knows about the Lord but the other “persona” doesn’t know about him? Hmmm, interesting.

    • Dee
      September 5, 2012 at 1:30 pm

      Oh and if you’re curious: my pc runs Win 7. I heard part of the flickering issues have got to do with it using directx and so on, so you can no longer disable directx hardware acceleration. So glad it’s fixed for now though.

  13. Dara
    September 5, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I’ve played the original Act I, so I know how the story is supposed to proceed. After the opening with the three Virad, what town are you supposed to be in because I’m being teleported to Barette. Is this a glitch and should I be in Auria’s hometown?

    • projectbc
      September 5, 2012 at 10:58 am

      It’s not a glitch. You’ll see.

  14. Dee
    September 6, 2012 at 7:31 am

    Is the choice branching also in Act 1? Darn looks like I missed out on a lot of things ‘cos the game ended with me going back home. =/

    • projectbc
      September 6, 2012 at 9:52 am

      There are some choices in Act I+, but the major ones don’t show up until Act II (unfortunately).

      • Dee
        September 7, 2012 at 1:00 pm

        Oh I see! =) It’s okay… now I’ve even more to look forward to. Btw, will we get to meet Dakura Maladorr in the later parts of the game: his spirit or him as a demon? Ah if only Auria and him could meet.

      • projectbc
        September 7, 2012 at 10:37 pm

        I’m afraid I must plead the fifth. =P

        But I think it’s pretty unlikely that he and Auria will meet.

  15. Dee
    September 8, 2012 at 9:26 am

    The fifth what?

    Yeah he’s dead and it’s 2000 years later. Plus they probably will never meet even in Hell. What a shame! =( I’d have loved to see how both of them will react towards another. =/

  16. saa
    September 15, 2012 at 7:46 am

    http://puu.sh/15fG7

    Is that supposed to happen?? Any treasure I can get?? I got there from behind the tree…

    And was the last boss this hard in the original?? I dont remember it being this hard… OTL

    Sorry for the disturbance.

    • projectbc
      September 15, 2012 at 2:30 pm

      No, that’s not supposed to happen. Thanks for pointing it out. And the final boss was actually made quite a bit easier than it was in the original version.

  17. saa
    September 15, 2012 at 7:19 pm

    It’s easier ?? must be me getting rusty……..

  18. Yamcha
    September 18, 2012 at 12:02 pm

    I know this is late but I just rediscovered Awakening @ Kickstarter after losing my bookmarks for your site. I saw the trailer and this is what I think:
    The music was stylish, grand and awesome. And so was the voice-acting though it was a bit over-emphasised and overdone. But the trailer looks like a powerpoint presentation with some voice overs. You can do better than that, dude. =)

    How about showing more of the gameplay and story mechanics? And with better camera panning?

    And you and your team should talk too in the video and show what your vision for the game is all about. Hearing the team tell us what your game is supposed to be, is better than reading some bulletin points about “how this game won’t feature this and that”.

    This might be of interest to you:
    http://www.gamasutra.com/view/feature/177512/kickstarter_for_the_average_indie.php

  19. saa
    September 19, 2012 at 8:12 am

    Reporting, Sir!

    Something is weird w/ the “counter” reactions, ex. ray got hit and w/ counter he got a turn, how/e his actual turn, that is w/o the counter, should be next, is gone and sometimes when after ray is raz, raz’s and ray’s turn is gone and went straight to seri.

    That’s all.

    • projectbc
      September 19, 2012 at 8:47 am

      Thanks for the report. It seems I’ll never be set free from fixing bugs with counter. >_<

  20. saa
    September 20, 2012 at 12:24 pm

    oh right, one more thing. Before the ending it said next episode is night zero, how/e after the save (was it??) it said :see you next in episode 2 halo locks. (based on memory, might be wrong on timing, but it definitely said that).

    • projectbc
      September 20, 2012 at 5:53 pm

      Whoops, good catch.

  21. Nuclear Engineer
    September 21, 2012 at 5:41 pm

    How do I get it into full screen?

    • projectbc
      September 21, 2012 at 5:43 pm

      Either through the Options menu or by pressing Alt+Enter.

      • Nuclear Engineer
        September 21, 2012 at 7:00 pm

        Thanks! I didnt see an options menu when i started it up and it looks really tiny on my screen.

      • projectbc
        September 21, 2012 at 10:21 pm

        No problem! Hope you enjoy.

  22. Azure flame
    September 27, 2012 at 1:04 pm

    Hi there you probably have thousand of comments like this one, i’d like to say an enormous

    BRAVO.

    I’ve been playing rpg for quite a while ( just turned 30 ) you guy’s just got me completly hooked!

    From final fantasy 1 ( yes the first and ugly one ) passing by Xenogears to Diablo 3 , i’ve never enjoyed a game like that and i’ve played tons of rpg.

    The character desing is superb, the music is astounding ( Tarranon I will definitely buy your soudtrack ) the story line and the characters are deep and unique.

    You guy’s rock.

    Will looking for the next chapter…

    • projectbc
      September 27, 2012 at 1:08 pm

      Glad to hear you enjoyed it! I really appreciate your kind words. If you enjoyed Act I+, I promise you have quite the treat coming when the next chapter is available. I’m confident that it surpasses the original in every way.

  23. November 12, 2012 at 7:14 pm

    i suspect this’ already been noticed, but just in case, i wanted to point out that a few of the level up requirements of things that need silent focus/summer wind have the old names in requirements[eyes of the hawk/speed demon]
    specifically, parry, lock on and warp

    loving the series as much as ever :D

  24. Sara
    December 10, 2012 at 9:09 pm

    How far is the progress on Act 2 coming along?

    • projectbc
      December 12, 2012 at 3:08 pm

      It’s in final testing right now. Shouldn’t be much longer!

  25. Harrison
    December 12, 2012 at 2:42 pm

    I am unable to fully save and pick up on any computer. I don’t actually have a permanent computer and there are times where I need to use other computers. The game is way too long for me to play on only one computer and even then my progress may get accidentally erased

    • projectbc
      December 12, 2012 at 3:09 pm

      Ouch, that sucks! There’s a way around it, although it’s a bit roundabout. When you open the game for the first time, it creates a directory in %APPDATA%/Project BC with your save data. Hold onto those files and transfer them into the same directory on your other computers and you should be able to continue your game just fine.

  26. Merdem
    December 18, 2012 at 3:22 am

    I just finished it, and i loved it. I will be waiting for the 2nd and 3rd acts.
    I think it is nocely done overall.

    Though I think counter reaction does some wierd thinks to the turn system. Wrong party member gets the turn when opponents takes a counter turn. Like, Rayonne hits, Final boss takes a counter turn, hits someone, and then its Rayonne’s turn again. Rayonne hits again, final boss takes another counter turn, and then its Rayonne’s turn again.

    • Merdem
      December 18, 2012 at 3:24 am

      *nicely

    • projectbc
      December 18, 2012 at 10:06 am

      Fortunately, the wait won’t be long before Act II+ comes out! I’m glad you enjoyed it.

      As for Counter..ergh, yeah, I know. It’s kind of buggy and it’s been a nightmare to track down all the problems with it.

  27. December 28, 2012 at 3:36 am

    Thank you very much for this. :D

  28. thisisme87
    January 15, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    I have some questions about the plot in Act I, its conclusion to be accurate :

    *** SPOILERS AHEAD ***

    [spoiler]Auria just fought the Virad in Mortagne. She seemed in shock because she just killed a human being, a Virad cultist with dubious (murderous?) intentions.

    [b]Question 1[/b] : What about the countless of bandits she fought (and probably killed) before, without ever complaining once ?

    The party then gathers in the cellar. Another Virad, called Weapon, steps out of an energy tunnel, immobilizes Auria and Serijala, and quickly dispatches the rest of the party.

    Her companion, Serijala, being threatened to be violated by Weapon, Auria gets a surge of power and knocks him back. The same companion then strongly suggests not to kill the bad guy, because “everyone deserves a chance to live, and redeem”.

    [b]Question 2[/b] : Serijala’s reaction makes no sense to me in such a context, but maybe does she have a much more forgiving nature compared to mine. Seriously though, is there a rational explication to this, maybe unveiled in act 2 ?

    The whole party steps into the energy tunnel, chasing Weapon. Auria then transforms into a Virad, fights her former companions, but loses and gets knocked out.

    The same cop that had shot Auria in cold blood during the introduction, Blaise, then mysteriously reappears, and steps in between the party and a threatening Archcaptain of the Virad, Axylias.

    Instead of, I don’t know, simply exterminating the pityful human cop, the Virad moves forwards to the unconscious Auria. Blaise takes advantage of this to chase the demons away.

    [b]Question 3[/b] : How come that a comparatively weak human cop, equipped with a pistal at best, manages to scare off an Archcaptain with supposedly boundless powers ? What about the much better equipped army squadron that the same Virad group managed to effortlessly obliterate in the introduction ?

    Finally, the party returns to Auria’s home town, now destroyed. The cop follows them. Auria has no reaction whatsoever towards him, and instead starts to look for a way to leave the town.

    [b]Question 4[/b] : What about Auria exerting vengeance towards someone that attempted to assassinate her, without providing any good reason, explanation or remorse for doing so ?[/spoiler]

    Am I being too harsh with a game that is otherwise truely full of outstanding and praiseworthy features : artwork, music, mapping, scripting, etc. ?

    • projectbc
      January 15, 2013 at 2:49 pm

      Hi! Thanks for the comment. I’ll do my best to answer your questions.

      1) You might have missed this since it’s only mentioned once, but when you get the message box about engaging enemies in battle, it says that you KO enemies when you defeat them, not kill them. That’s typically the case unless explicitly said otherwise in the story.
      2) That’s the most extreme example of Serijala’s idealism that we see at this point in the story. She doesn’t believe in revenge or violence (except in self-defense). I can’t really discuss her character more until after you’ve completed Act II, though.
      3) It’s hard for me to answer this question because it involves information which hasn’t come to light yet, but it’s not at this point in Axylias’s best interests to engage Blaise in battle. Unlike Sandarga, Axylias does not go into battle at any time in the story.
      4) That’s going to come up right at the start of Act II. At this point, Auria is feeling lost and defeated and starting more fights isn’t something she wants to do right now. She also doesn’t have the luxury of being able to turn away help at this point.

      I don’t think you’re being too harsh. They’re very reasonable questions.

      Thanks for playing and I hope that helps! If not, feel free to ask for clarification.

  29. thisisme87
    January 15, 2013 at 3:48 pm

    Thank you for your diligent and thorough reply.

    Also forgive me for the poor formatting and the absence of spelling/grammar checks of my message : I thought it was possible to edit comments on blogs, doh.

    This being said, I play games (RPGs anyway) first and foremost for the story/plot. Gameplay does matter, yes, for sure, but not if it comes at the expense of the former (I can enjoy pure text games, for example). Your game peeked my interest as one of the few rpg-maker games that focuses more on story and character interaction(s) than on stylish combat interfaces/systems (not that your game lacks of one).

    Having played Vacant Sky act I in the past, I wondered if the new version version would shed a different light on the few, nagging points that I mentioned above, which I had already had noticed in the original version. It turns out it didn’t, but I do not regret playing through the game again.

    Even if I attempted to ignore all the nifty enhancements that you have spoiled your players with (I like the new character portraits much better!), my opinion of it being one of the better rpg-maker games out there hasn’t changed. I just wanted to get these questions out of my mind ^.^

    I will heed your advice, and am looking forwards to playing act 2, to get myself even better acquainted with Auria and her companions, because you got me really curious now. Unlike most characters in other games, they seem to have a much more complex personality and original background to them, which I couldn’t easily foretell (and even bitterly failed at, it seems).

    This is to your credit, and to the one of your game, I guess.

    Allow me to express my gratitude for sharing the game with us, your insight as the game creator with your fans/followers, and to once again send you the praise of everything else in your game that deserves it. It’s obvious to me that you (and the people that you’ve gathered around yourself as a team) have talent, and wish you all the best in your coming endeavors.

    I am looking forwards to playing (and supporting) your games.

    • projectbc
      January 15, 2013 at 3:57 pm

      Thanks for the kind words! I originally got into making games because my passion was in writing interesting stories and characters, so I’m glad that comes through. My primary audience is people who, like me, are interested in story.

      One downside (or upside, depending on what your tastes are) of the fact that Contention is only the first work in the setting is that there are going to be quite a few loose ends. There are a lot of characters, places, and mechanics of the setting which are touched upon but aren’t resolved because they’ll be relevant in future works. That’s the reason why question #3 is difficult to answer at this point.

  30. thisisme87
    January 15, 2013 at 3:58 pm

    Grrr, piqued my interest, not peeked my interest (I am not a native English speaker, as you can tell) >.<

    Anyway, I am off playing act 2, which I couldn't bring myself to do for the older version, since I thought the plot would keep having such "holes" (which are it seems largely an invention of my mind), and would suffer in consistency.

    Best regards.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

